Congress and Samajwadi Party to check Modi’s influence in UP

As the campaign heats up for Lok Sabha polls, the Congress and Samajwadi Party have come up with strategies to check BJP leader Narendra Modi’s influence in Uttar Pradesh. Samajwadi Supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav has decided to contest from Azamgargh too besides his constituency Mainpuri,  apparently to counter Modi from polarising votes in Eastern Uttar … Read more

Entering poll fray from Varanasi to defeat Modi, says Kejriwal

Aam Aadmi Party Convener Arvind Kejriwal has said that his decision to enter the electoral fray from Varanasi is not a symbolic gesture, but to defeat BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi. Speaking at a conference in New Delhi yesterday, Kejriwal said he will ask the people of Varanasi whether he should contest against Modi … Read more

PIL on symbol for NOTA option

The Election Commission on Tuesday, sought time in the Madras High court to reply on a PIL seeking a direction to the ECI to develop a symbol to denote NOTA option on the voting machine as a vast majority of people is illiterate and an exclusive symbol for NOTA alone would serve the desired purpose … Read more

CEC to review poll preparations in UP tomorrow

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath, along with Election Commissioners HS Brahma and Nasim Zaidi will review the Lok Sabha poll preparations in Uttar Pradesh tomorrow and on Friday in Lucknow. Briefing newsmen yesterday, UP Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha said that the commission will hold meetings with representatives of political parties tomorrow and with Divisional … Read more

BJP to decide Gujarat, Rajasthan, Maharashtra seats

BJP’s Central Election Committee will meet in New Delhi today to finalise the list of candidates for Gujarat, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, and the remaining seats in Bihar and UP for the Lok Sabha elections. A decision on the seats from where Narendra Modi and L K Advani will contest in Gujarat is expected to be taken … Read more

History of elections in India

Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of the adult suffrage. The maximum strength of the House envisaged by the Constitution is 552, which is made up by election of up to 530 members to represent the States, up to 20 members to represent the Union … Read more

Notification for 4th and 5th phases of Lok Sabha elections to be issued today

The Notification for the Fourth and Fifth phases of Lok Sabha elections, spread over 128 Parliamentary constituencies in 16 states, will be issued today. The states are, Assam, Sikkim, Tripura, Goa, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. Notification will also be issued today … Read more

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!