Javed Akhter among 22 writers selected for Sahitya Akademi Awards 2013

Eminent Urdu poet Javed Akhter, Hindi novelist Mridula Garg, Punjabi novelist Manmohan, Kashmiri writer Mohi-ud-Din Reshi and Tamil novelist R.N.Joe D’Cruz are among the 22 writers who have been selected for the Sahitya Akademi Awards-2013.

Akhtar has been selected for his poetry book – “Lava” and Mridula Garg for her novel – “Miljul Man”.

Announcing the awards in New Delhi, the Secretary of the Sahitya Akademi, Dr K Sreenivasarao said that these awards will be given in 22 different Indian languages.

He said, however, the awards in Gujarati and Assamese languages will be announced later.

He said, the awards of this year relate to the books published during January, 2009 to December, 2011.

The award which carries one lakh rupees and a citation will be presented to them next year in the month of March.

Leave a Comment