Hungarian writer Laszlo Krasznahorkai wins Man Booker International Prize

Hungarian writer Laszlo Krasznahorkai has won the prestigious Man Booker International Prize for 2015. Laszlo Krasznahorkai was announced the winner at an award ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London last night. The judges praised Krasznahorkai for his extraordinary intensity and the vocal range of his work. Krasznahorkai, who writes in Hungarian, was … Read more

Delhi’s IGI is 6th best airport in the world

For the third year in a row, Indira Gandhi International Airport in New Delhi has been adjudged the second best airport in the world for its service quality among airports handling 25-40 million passengers per annum. Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport was placed at fifth position in this category by the Airport Council International, ACI. … Read more

Jhumpa Lahiri’s “Lowland” shortlisted for this year’s Baileys Prize

Pulitzer Prize-winning Indian American novelist Jhumpa Lahiri’s “Lowland” has been shortlisted for this year’s Baileys Prize, the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman. The book, set in Kolkata and Rhode Island in the US, is about the lives of two brothers, their choices and their fate. Lowland was also shortlisted … Read more

4-quarter format in Hockey

Hockey will no longer be a game of two halves at the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics, with the sport announcing a change to a four-quarter format to broaden its appeal to broadcasters and fans. The International Hockey Federation, FIH said in a statement yesterday that four 15-minute quarters would replace the previous two 35-minute halves. … Read more

Physicist Prof. Gopakumar selected for G D Birla award

Physicist Prof. Rajesh Gopakumar has been selected for the 23rd G D Birla award for scientific research for the year 2013. Prof. Gopakumar is presently working as a theoritical physicist at Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad. Prof. Gopakumar has made important contributions on topics in quantum field theory and string theory. The award is meant … Read more

Stree Shakti Puruskar on International Women’s Day

President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee was the chief guest at the celebrations to mark the International Women’s Day where he conferred Stree Shakti Puruskar to six illustrious women in recognition of their achievements, here today. The awardees for the Stree Shakti Puruskar are nominated by state governments, MPs, VIPs and on suo-moto basis, and … Read more

Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh Awarded National Tourism Award for Best State

Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh have been jointly given the award for the First Prize in the category of “Best State/UT: Comprehensive Development of Tourism.” The second and third prizes in this category have gone to Kerala and Gujarat respectively. The National Tourism Awards were given by Mr. Shashi Tharoor, Minister of State for Human … Read more

Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award to Kapil Dev

India’s first World Cup winning captain, Kapil Dev will be conferred with the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award for the year 2013. In a release, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, BCCI said that the award’s committee, which includes BCCI President N. Srinivasan and Secretary Sanjay Patel, met in Chennai on Wednesday … Read more

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!