IIFA Awards – Dabangg swept the IIFA awards ceremony in Toronto

The 12th International Indian Film Academy Awards 2011 in Toronto on Sunday opened with a big ‘Dabangg’ with Salman Khan’s tough cop romp scooping most of the awards.

Corrupt cop thriller “Dabangg” swept the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards ceremony in Toronto on Saturday, bagging six mainstream trophies at a star-studded annual extravaganza often dubbed as Bollywood’s Oscars.

Here are the winners in the main categories

Best Film: Dabangg

Best Direction: Karan Johar for My Name is Khan

Best Actor: Shah Rukh Khan for My Name is Khan

Best Actress: Anushka Sharma for Band Baaja Baaraat

Best Supporting Actor: Arjun Rampal for Rajneeti

Best Supporting Actress: Prachi Desai for Once upon a time in Mumbai

Outstanding achievement in international cinema: Irrfan khan

Best performance in a Negative role: Sonu sood for Dabangg

Best comic role: Riteish Deshmukh for Housefull

Best Debut (female): Sonakshi Sinha

Best Debut (male): Ranveer Singh

Green Globe Award: Priyanka Chopra

Hottest Pair: Anushka Sharma and Ranveer Singh

Outstanding achievement in Indian cinema: Sharmila Tagore and Dharmendra

Leave a Comment