Exit polls banned from 7 April untill May 12

The Election Commission of India has banned the publication and dissemination of exit polls of any kind from April 7, the first phase of Lok Sabha elections, till May 12 when the last phase of the polling ends.

The Commission said the ban or restriction on exit polls would also be applicable for elections to Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh Assemblies that are being held along with Lok Sabha polls.

The exit polls will be banned from 7 AM on April 7th when polling in the first phase starts till 6.30 PM on May 12 when the polling in the ninth and last phase ends.

The Commission has also banned the publication of results of any opinion polls 48 hours before polling in respective areas.

Leave a Comment