Campaign for 10 LS seats of western UP to end this evening

The election campaign for ten Lok Sabha seats of western UP which are going to polls on 10th of April, will come to an end in the evening today.

The constituencies are Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar, Bulandshahr and Aligarh.The region gained prosperity in comparison to other parts of state due to its rich agriculture.

Besides, proximity to Delhi has developed Ghaziabad, NOIDA and Meerut into industrial hubs but infrastructure in the region is still poor.

The major and persistent issues of the region have been – a separate statehood, Constitution of a High Court bench in Meerut, revival of dying industries, pollution in rivers and land acquisition.

But this time, all seems to have been overshadowed by the voters’ polarisation, specially in the backdrop of recent Muzaffarnagar group clashes which shattered the age old caste-community based equations.

In 2009 Loksabha polls, of 10 seats of this region, BSP had won five, BJP-RLD alliance four, Samajwadi Party one. Congress had faileld to win any seat.

Ajit Singh of RLD has this time made alliance with Congress in the region. A total of 176 candidates are in fray for the ten seats going to polls on 10th of this month.

Leave a Comment