Manpreet Singh to lead India for 3rd Asian Champions Hockey Trophy in Japan

Manpreet Singh – Hockey Player – will lead the 18-member hockey squad in the 3rd Asian Champions Trophy to be held at Kakamigahara, Japan from November from 2nd to 10th. A Hockey India announcement in New Delhi said that Midfielder Kothajit Singh has been named Manpreet’s deputy for the mega event.

The slectors finalised the list of 18 players with 6 standbys during the selection trials conducted at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium on October 9-10.

The Squad is:

Goal Keepers: Sushant Tirkey and Harjot Singh

Defenders: Gurjinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Sukhmanjit Singh and Pardeep Mor

Midfielders: Prabhdeep Singh, Manpreet Singh – Captain, Satbir Singh, Harjeet Singh, Imran Khan, and Kothajit Singh (Vice-Captain)

Forwards: Malak Singh, Mandeep Singh, Talwinder Singh, Akashdeep Singh and Ramandeep Singh.

The other participating teams in the 2013 tournament are China, Japan, Malaysia, Oman and Pakistan.

India will open its campaign against China on November 2 followed by matches against Japan, Oman, Pakistan and Malaysia on November 3, 5, 7 and 8 respectively

Leave a Comment